Tuesday, October 05, 2010

World Tourism Conference Sabah

KOTA KINABALU: Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Mohd Yassin yesterday officially opened the World Tourism Conference 2010 (WTC 2010) hosted by Sabah.

Nine ministers and two deputy ministers have confirmed their participation in the three-day conference, starting Monday until Oct 6.

The international ministers are Brunei, East Timor, Gabon, Papua New Guinea, Sudan, Chad, Nepal, Laos and Swaziland.

The two deputy ministers are from Kenya and Sri Lanka.

With a record breaking success of World Tourism Conference 2007 in Kuala Lumpur, WTC returned to Malaysia for the second time this year after an absence of 25 years.

The conference was held for the first time in Manila, the Philippines in 1980, followed by Acapulco, Mexico in 1982.

WTC 2010 is jointly organised by the Ministry of Tourism Malaysia and the World Tourism Organisation (UNWTO) together with the Sabah Government.

Some 500 participants, both local and international, have arrived here since Saturday.

The conference is aimed at uncovering the secrets of leading destinations and organisations in the tourism industry which can be adopted and adapted to generate income and accelerate growth in the industry.

It is also designed for policy makers, industry players and relevant stakeholders to share experiences and information on tourism mega trends and innovation, government initiatives and tourism business success stories.

In addition to that, it is expected to draw attention to innovative Tourism Product Development and Marketing Strategies, Sustainable Growth and partnership for tourism to chart the strategic directions to enable the public and private sectors to harness and maximise the potential of tourism.

Continue reading at: World Tourism Conference Sabah

No comments: