Monday, May 15, 2017

‘Sayang Lawas’ bags main title in Sabah International Dragon Boat Race

KOTA KINABALU: Sarawak’s Sayang Lawas crossed the finishing line ahead of six other teams to clinch the 4th Sabah Federation of Chinese Associations Sabah (FCAS) International Dragon Boat Race main title at the Likas Bay in Tanjung Lipat, near here, on Sunday.

The neighbouring state’s dragon boat team finished the 800m sprint in a time of 3 minutes and 48.66 seconds to take home the Sabah Head of State Trophy plus the RM10,000 main cash prize.

Brunei representatives, Pasukan Lumba Perahu Mukim Saba Brunei Darussalam (3m 49.8s) and Pasukan Lumba Perahu Lela Cheteria (3m 50.21s) had to settle for second and third places, respectively.

Sayang Lawas also managed to add a second title to their name in the tournament’s fourth edition by successfully defending their Men’s Open 200m Race (12 crews) title earlier in the day after clocking 58.14 seconds.

They edged out closest challenger, Seri Pahlawan Brunei Muara Team (59.03s) by nearly a second while third place went to Ulmala Dragon Boat Team A after it finished 0.17 seconds above the one minute mark.

The Sabah Chief Minister Trophy (Malaysian Men Teams) was won by Rabbana Dragon Boat Team A while Remaja Rukut Rukut Lok Bo Eh Tuaran defended their Kinabalu Dragon Trophy (Local Boys under 20) title won last year.